Change is good!

Hi Friends!
Hope you all had an awesome day today! I know I sure did 🙂 Yesterday, I got a letter from United States Congressman, Dean Heller, thanking me for sharing my thoughts on the upcoming reauthorization of the Child Nutrition Act. At the suggestion of my friend, Mark Estee (Owner and Executive Chef of Moody’s, Baxter’s, and Burger Me), I followed a link to sign a petition for this important Act. My first inclination was “I feel very strongly about this issue and of course I will sign the petition – although it probably won’t make much difference”. What a negative Nancy!! And, here, I get a letter in the mail thanking me for taking a stance on this issue! The letter also said, legislation has been introduced for the Secretary of Agriculture to revise the definition of “food of minimal nutritional value” and to prohibit all food defined as “minimal nutritional” food from being sold anywhere on school campuses at any time of the day. This is no doubt a small step, but is still a step towards positive change and it gave me hope that my voice was heard. Reflecting back on my initial inclination of “it probably won’t make much difference”, I am now wondering why I doubted that I could make a difference. Why did I think that I am not enough? How many of you harbor the fear of not being enough, not having enough, not doing enough? I dare you to challenge these fears and to stand up and say “I AM enough!! I CAN make a change!!” Ghandi’s famous quote is “You have to BE the change you want to see in the world” and that is SO  true! If something or someone bothers you and you find it rattling your core values, then in order to spark a change to happen – you have to FIRST start with the change in YOU! I am going to stand tall and firm in my values and ideals … my dreams and ambitions and I’m not going to be afraid to let my voice be heard!!
Now who is brave enough to join me???
Learn more about the Child Nutrition Act here
4 Responses to “Change is good!”

  1. Great blog, great concept – I love it Jenny. Keep it up. We need more people like you.

    -XxX-

    • Thank you SO much Renee!! I am really excited about entering the blog world 😀 Obviously, I think your blog is fantastic and am looking forward to collaborating with our blogs!! Yaaaaay!
      Have a an awesome day!
      Jenny

  2. Wow, that’s really cool… a letter… you mean they actually count those vote thingies??? whew. Good to know, right?
    Go blogger. Go.

Leave a Reply

