Intermittent Fasting and Obsessive Compulsive Eating

Good Afternoon Friends!

How is your relationship with your health? With food? With your workouts? Do you ever feel “obsessed” with what you should/should not be eating and your workouts? Are you overcome with guilt if you go off of your “diet plan”? I know I’ve had that mindset before. Where my whole day was based around what I was or was not going to be eating and when I was going to workout. Caring about your health is a GOOD thing, but being obsessed about it is not (at least not for me…) SO, is it possible to get lean, be healthy, and ENJOY the process???? Yes it is!!!

I was reading a blog that I enjoy today, and the author (Brad Pilon) has an e-book called “Eat Stop Eat“. Now, I have yet to purchase the book, but I am intrigued. I have followed his blog for a long time now and his principles really make sense to me. He says this quote:

“Before you study Nutrition, food is food and drink is drink; while you are studying nutrition, food is no longer food and drink is no longer drink; but once you have had enlightenment, food is once again food and drink is again drink.”

So simple, and so true!! Overcomplicating everything is what gets us into trouble! (in my opinion). Brad’s principles are basically this: Eat when hungry, sleep when tired; Focus mainly on healthy foods, (fruits, veggies, you know – primal stuff 😉 ) ENJOY your food, and don’t get obsessed about what your eating (all easier said than done hehe). He is also a big advocate of “Intermittent Fasting”. This is another concept that I am very interested in, and practice every now and again. Basically, it’s fasting for 24 hours, 1-2 x per week. So if my last meal today was at 6 pm, then I would fast tomorrow until 6 pm and have a normal dinner. Intermittent fasting is a very interesting topic and I will write more on it later! It’s another one of those “outside-of-the-box” ideas, so be prepared to have an open mind!! And remember “If you eat like everyone else, you’ll look like and feel everyone else!”

Any questions? Let me know!!

Don’t forget to ENJOY yourself!!

Much Love,

Master Yah

Leave a Reply

